Makeup Update

Before moving to Hawaii I solely used Mary Kay products.  I was a consultant at the time and really loved (and still love much of) the lineup.  When I moved, for several reasons, I decided to check out some other skin care and makeup lines for the first time in a few years and thus this blog was born.  While it’s transitioned, and continues to evolve into other topics I still have a love of all things beauty and want to give you all an update on some of my current favorites.

I have been checking out some new products and trying to consolidate my routine into a quick and easy 5 minute face.  Things I refuse to leave the house without:  eyebrows, blush, under eye corrector and mascara.  Everything else is negotiable.

Face

Foundations:  I am currently loving Too Faced Born This Way foundation.  It’s lightweight, the color match is perfect, and it’s helped improve my skin texture and tone.  The coverage is medium and buildable.   Not since my MK days have I repeatedly bought the same foundation.  About a month ago I bought my second bottle of this.  I will say that if you have uber oily skin, you may want to get a sample of it to see how it works with your skin type.  My skin has been more normal than oily so even in the heat this stays put.

CC Creams:  I am on the hunt for something I can throw on over my primer (Benefit Porefessional is my go-to).  I am playing with Arbonne Intelligence CC Cream as well as bareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream.  The Arbonne product is a medium coverage and there are limited shades which makes it harder to match.  The consistency is a little heavier as well so I feel like I need to use a foundation brush to get an even coverage.  Complexion Rescue is much lighter but still provides a good coverage.  I like that a tiny bit goes a long way and I have quickly put it on with my fingers which saves even more product (make sure your hands are clean!!).  The verdict is still out on which one I will prefer on those days when I need to get ready in a quick minute.

Blush:  My favorite is Julep Glow Pore Minimizing Blush in Peach Bellini.

Concealer/Corrector:  Japonesque Color Velvet Touch Concealer and the NYX Color Correcting palette.  Mary Kay also just launched a new line of liquid concealers along with an under eye corrector that I am looking forward to trying!

Eyes

Brows: For awhile now I have been loving the MAC brow pencil in Lingering.  Recently I got the itch to try Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Pomade again.  I changed up the shade this time to the soft brown instead of medium brown and I am liking it much better.  I will say that I am much faster with the pencil though.

Shadow:  I have a limited edition 4 shade palette in Chai Latte from Mary Kay that is my quick and easy go-to when I am in a hurry.  It’s a great neutral that I can wear at any time.

Liner: I have recently fallen in love with Kat Von D Tattoo Liner but when I am in a hurry this long lasting liquid formula is not forgiving so for those grab and go days I prefer a pencil.  Motives or NYX have been great options.  I personally greatly dislike gel pencils.

Mascara:  I’ve been using Benefit Roller Lash for awhile and I really like it.  It adds length, volume, curl, and still looks natural.  Another item I can’t wait to get my hands on is the new Mary Kay Lash Intensity Mascara.  Instagram some pictures…it looks AMAZING!

Lips

I am typically a balm or gloss girl.  With my lips being so chapped recently, regular old vaseline has been the only thing that has helped.  I did recently get Julep Tinted Lip Oil Treatment in Obsessed (red) and I have to say it’s my new favorite thing.  It acts like a lip stain without drying out your lips, it’s super sheer so it’s not as bold as a lipstick, lasts for a long time and the best part is that it’s not sticky at all.  I plan on getting it in Covet as well (pink).

So, there are my go-to items.  When I am in a rush, I don’t use everything but I have gotten this routine down to a pretty short timeframe.

What are your must have items?!

img_5620-1

One thought on “Makeup Update

  1. Pingback: Sephora Haul-June 2017 | Lovely Pink Glitter

Leave a Reply

