Cravings 

Buy this book!   

No, this is not a paid post, but I got this cookbook a few weeks ago ($15.99 on iBooks) and both Phil and I have loved the meals we’ve made from it!!

I knew of Chrissy Teigen as John Legend’s model wife and I have a friend who could be her Japanese doppelgänger. When I saw a few minutes of her as co-host of an awards show (MTV maybe??) last year I was really unsure how to take her personality. My first impression was loud, kind of vulgar, and in your face. Somehow, a few months ago I ended up following her Instagram feed. I don’t remember if I stumbled across it because of the upcoming cookbook or the fact that she’s also pregnant with a little girl and due not long before I am. Either way, I have come to respect and love her unapologetic responses to critics, her humor, love of life, and the adorable pictures she posts of her pups.

Without further ado, check out my thoughts on 4 recipes we’ve made.  I won’t post the full recipes, because copywrite laws and what not, but I promise the book is worth it!

1.  Crab Cakes Benedict

I have avoided Eggs Benedict because of the undercooked eggs while pregnant so I did vary this recipe a bit. It was still delicious and the fake hollandaise (not pictured-I got a little camera happy and took pictures too early!) has so many uses outside of this dish.  I added the sourdough English muffin and I fried my eggs instead of poaching them. I attempted a poached egg. It wasn’t pretty. Everything else was ready to go so frying up the eggs was the fastest way to get this in my belly while the crab cakes were still warm.

2. Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Grapes and Almonds  I’m a big fan of Brussels sprouts even though I’m pretty sure I hated them as a kid.  They’re high in vitamins C and K along with being a good source of B vitamins.  I added an apple to the mix and it’s a great side or afternoon snack. If you were to add some protein, it’d be a great meal.  This is perfect as the weather warms up. It’s light, citrusy with a lemon dressing and full of flavor even with minimal ingredients.

3. Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts Even with my recent meat aversion this was good enough to finish off a small chicken breast. It’s full of gooey cheeses and has great flavor. The recipe called for bacon, which I left out because I made this on a week night and was looking for a way to cut down on prep time.  I also purchased thin cut breast filets instead of pounding regular chicken flat although even the thin cut could have been thinner in some areas. The tomatoes are a part of the recipe and they are so yummy with the cheese that melts out of the chicken. I don’t have any cast iron which is what she uses in the book, so I put it all in a Pampered Chef stoneware dish, added some asparagus and about 30 minutes later we dug in.

4.  Spicy Italian Sausage Meatloaf Again with the picture…this time I dished up our plates before remembering to grab my camera.  Meatloaf is one of those things you either love or hate. Until I had a roommate make it for me quite a few years ago after dental surgery I hated it. Hers was a good, classic style of meatloaf. This, is its spicier cousin. It has both beef and ground sausage and it’s delicious!  If you know me and know how my eating habits have evolved over the past few years this one probably shocks you. And who would have guessed that I wish I would have doubled up in the ketchup glaze?!  I’m not sure I even know myself to anymore. I blame the baby! 😉 I pretty much followed the recipe with the only real change being the dish it was cooked in because apparently we don’t own a loaf pan. It ended up working out though because the package of ground beef I had was a little over a pound, and this Le Creuset dish is a little shallower allowing the meat to cook faster.  I added cauliflower mash as the side to at least pretend we were trying to be on the healthier side.

Overall this has quickly become a favorite for new recipes. Skimming through, many of the recipes take a little longer than I like to spend on cooking on a weeknight after work but if you have a bit of extra time or are great at prep work this could easily work into a weekly meal routine.

Do you already have this book?  What’s your favorite recipe?!

Leave a Reply

