Travel Basics

The hubs and I went on a mini vacay this weekend!  Where do you go when you already live in paradise?  To the outer islands, of course! :). We were only gone for a few days and while I could have packed a full checked bag, I didn’t.  So that meant that I needed to shrink my makeup bag.
While on vacation I like to relax. My skin gets a break too from my daily makeup routine. I’ll get dolled up for a nice dinner out but as we play “tourist” I keep it pretty simple. Here’s what’s in my bag:

IMG_2845.JPG

I know it may look like a lot, but I am a girl that likes choices. 🙂  I am doing a lot more traveling over the holidays and have a few items on their way that will make this haul even more condensed, maybe. Here’s the list:

Dr. Jart Primer (not shown): great for oily skin and smells kind of lemon-y

Covergirl Ready, Set, Gorgeous: for a drug store foundation, it lives up to the hype! It even lasted through a 60 minute massage with my face in the pillow for the majority of the time! More on this in another post.

Benefit Cosmetics FakeUp: my go-to under eye concealer. It’s hydrating and doesn’t settle in fine lines.

Benefit Cosmetics 5 in 1 eye primer: verdict is still out but I like the subtle shimmer, makes a great highlighter.

Julep Pore Minimizing Blush: LOVE! I’m hoping they make a setting powder or foundation in this formula. It really does minimize pores…it’s awesome!

Mac Studio Fix Pressed Powder: sets foundation, great airbrushed finish.

POP Cosmetics Bronzer: good, semi matte for that sun kissed glow.

NYX eyeliner in Brown: brown is a great color when you want a more natural look.

Julep Sweep Eyeshadow Palette: great neutrals on the go. It’s very powder-y so make sure you tap the excess off your brushes before applying.

Mary Kay Ultimate Mascara: great volume and length. 2 coats and you’re good!

Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow: my go-to for brows and the brush pictured is my favorite applicator.

Mary Kay Foundation Brush: (older version) great brush, dense, doesn’t shed and easy to clean.

Mary Kay Blush Brush: (newer version) this is actually my least favorite brush I own. About 2 years ago MK “updated” their brush set but I prefer the older version. This brush is really rough and sometimes I feel like it takes my makeup off rather than put blush on. Why’d I bring it you ask? It’s smaller than my other blush brush, which I’m not super in love with either but I just ordered a new one!

Crown Brush: check my a October favorites
Post to read more about this awesome brush.

Enjoy some pictures of beautiful Maui! By a happy accident we stayed at the Fairmont Wailea. It is gorgeous!

IMG_2814.JPG

IMG_2804.JPG

IMG_2819-0.JPG

IMG_2822-0.JPG

IMG_2838.JPG

IMG_2836.JPG

IMG_2853.JPG

IMG_2849.JPG

BlogBye

Leave a Reply

