Do you gel?

Do you love or hate gel eyeliner?  When I talk to women about their makeup routine, they either hate it or love it.  There seems to be no in-between.  This is my review of three types of gel eye liner.  Did you know there are multiple types?!  For the longest time it was a gel pot and you used your brush of choice to apply it.  But now there are pencils, felt tip applicators, pens, and of course the pots are still around.

Screen Shot 2014-10-18 at 2.51.11 PM

1.  Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real! Push-Up Liner 0.04 oz

When I first tried this, I LOVED it!  I have to be honest that it took about 3 uses to figure out the right application process.  One of my struggles with liner has always been getting it on my lashes, then the brush or applicator moving the lashes and liner getting in places I don’t want it.  Am I the only one?!  Ha!  Anyway, I really like the rubber applicator because it moves the lashes away from where the gel is pushed through the applicator.  Now though, I can’t seem to get the right about of gel.  There is either too much or too little and I am not sure if it has dried out or what but the application doesn’t seem to be as smooth.  So, long story short:  the verdict is still out on this product.  One time I love it and the next it frustrates the heck out of me. I will definitely say that this is not for beginner liners!

2.  MAC Fluidline in Blacktrack

I have tried a handful of gel liners that are potted like this, and I have to say this is hands down my favorite.  This liner goes on smooth and the color is a pure black with no grey or blue undertones.  The only other gel liner in a pot that compares is the Mary Kay Gel Eyeliner.  Others are too think, too goopy, not a pure black, dry too quickly, flake off…  I could continue but I think you get the idea!  I put this on with a thin, angled brush like Brush 266 or 209 from MAC.

3.  Julep Gel Eye Glider in Blackest Black

This is the perfect liner for smudging!  If you are looking for a clean, sharp, line this is not it.  As a pencil, the gel liner is too soft to create those lines.  When I use this, I dot it in between my lashes then take my 266 brush and smudge it.  It’s great for a softer look.

Application tips:

1.  Connect the dots!  To help you get a straight line, make dots along your lash line then connect the dots.  It will help you keep the brush at the lash line instead of tapering up which can sometimes happen if you are pulling the corner of your eye to flatten the skin.

2.  Use pencil liner first!  If you are already comfortable with pencil liner, do that first then trace your existing line to create a darker, more defined line.

3.  Line first!  Sometimes lines can be uneven or jagged but if you put your liner on before your eye shadow, the shadow will help disguise it.  It can also create a cool effect with simmer and a new color!  It also keeps the line from being as harsh if you want a more subtle look.

What is your favorite thing about gel liner?!

BlogBye
Julep Beauty Inc.

Leave a Reply

