Lovely Pink Glitter

A few people have asked me about the name Lovely Pink Glitter.  Honestly, It kind of just happened.  I wanted the name to refer to something beautiful, makeup related (but not so niche that I can’t expand it later), romantic and feminine.  I searched over the course of a couple weeks to find something that fit those parameters and Lovely Pink Glitter is what I found!  Here’s an idea of what I think of when I think of my blog:

Screen Shot 2014-06-29 at 5.41.34 PM

I think of soft, romantic makeup that translates into everyday.  Now, like any beauty junkie, I love the idea of playing with bright pink lashes and you’ll see posts like that from time to time, but it’s not my everyday style.  I’m more about playing with colors and styles that translate from a day at the office into a night on the town!  Now, for what I did:

Screen Shot 2014-06-29 at 5.43.53 PM

As you can see, there is a lot of pink in my skin already.  Plus, it didn’t help that I was at the beach before creating this look and got some sun as well.  Needless to say, I was a bit nervous that I would look like a giant fluff of cotton candy, but I was happy with the results!  Enjoy!  My foundation is TimeWise Matte-Wear Liquid Foundation in Beige 4 from Mary Kay followed by Mary Kay Translucent Powder.  I then did some light contouring using the new Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit.  I use Banana and Fawn for my contour and highlight, with a touch of Sand on the top of my cheek bones.  For my eyes I started with Mary Kay Smoke & Shimmer Eye Wand in Enchanted Mauve (limited edition) on my lid with an extra focus in the crease for more saturated color.   To highlight the inner corner of my eye I used Mary Kay At Play Eye Crayon in Gold Mine; I carried that about 1/3 of the way across my lid and ended up using it for some color under the eye as well.  Not sure why I hadn’t tried the eye crayons before-they’re AMAZING and so full of color!  They just might be a new favorite.  To add a little pop of pink on the eye I used the pink shade from the Mary Kay At Play Baked Eye Trio in On the Horizon at the lash line and brushed the ivory shade from the same trio on the brow bone.  For a softer look rather than a black eyeliner I used Mary Kay Eyeliner in Steely.  I finished off the eye with Mary Kay Ultimate Mascara and Makeup Forever Smokey Extravagant.  Using two different mascaras, instead of two coats of the same type, helps eliminate clumping!  For my brows, I used Benefit Brow Zings in Dark (the more I use this, the more I think it’s too dark for me…let’s just say the brows are still under construction.  Evolution of my eyebrows will probably make a future post!).  I finished off my face with one of my new favorites:  Glow Pore Minimizing Blush from Julep in Peach Bellini.  To tie the whole look together, I topped it off with Mary Kay NouriShine Plus Lip Gloss in Fancy Nancy (which shows up really pink in this picture.  In real life it’s much softer).

BlogBye

Evergreen Beauty Deals

Leave a Reply

